Independance Day

  With each passing year, the 4th of July has changed for me. It used to be party time, birthday celebrations with flag waving and hot dogs and baseball games with fireworks.
  Although we still gather together for a party, grill the dogs and shoot off the fireworks, the feelings in my heart have changed.
I will never forget the 4th of July when my firstborn was deployed to Afghanistan. Every firework brought questions, were they fighting at that very moment as we sat in our chairs watching the display. How could such a thing be, that I could see beauty in explosions while they represented death and ugliness over there.
  I remember struggling with resentment, I still do actually,  for what I perceived was an utter lack of understanding by pretty much everyone. I wished that I could gather with the families of those deployed, for the comradeship, for they know, they understand.
I remember thinking of the names of the fallen, sons of friends, men I had researched and written tributes for.
   I thought of a little boy sitting in a heart shaped wave at the beach. Of the Marine and his boyish face. I thought of Michael... Kevin.... Jason..... Kris....Seth....Andy......Thomas....Mecolus ....Stiggy........Daren....David....Donald.....Matthew....Rudy..., Vincent.....Frank.....Patrick.....Titus.....Brandon......Travis.....Stacy.....Steven.......Adam......William.....Jamie.......Dustin......Joshua.....and a host of others gone too soon.
Names have been added to the list since then......Michael D.....Juan......Artie......Vilmar.....Derek.....Daniel.....Ethan.....
  This year I will remember. As the fireworks go off, as the beautiful clusters fill the sky, I will go through the list of names and faces engraved in my memory the list is long and my faulty memory will not allow me to access each one, nor can my fingers bare the typing of them were I able to recall.
  As we celebrate America today, may each soul remember and reflect........freedom is not free.
  May God bless our Gold Star families this Independence Day, and may He ever bless and keep all who have served, especially those who fought, for they have paid in blood and sweat and tears in purchasing our freedom.

May God guard and protect all those still standing in harm's way on our behalf.





Link to database of our fallen.

http://projects.militarytimes.com/valor/

Photo album Honor to the Troops

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.239979516034964.67375.209368255762757&type=3






 Not all fireworks are in celebration. This photo depicts the Wolfhounds as they gather together in Afghanistan, the flares in the sky launched in tribute as their fallen brothers are beginning their final journey home.