His Peace.........We Give Thanks

Today I give thanks for His peace, without which I would most likely be a quivering mass of tissue lying in a heap on the floor, weeping, wailing and worrying.

Peter was asleep in prison, slated to be put to death the next day, chained to his guards....at peace...asleep, when the angel of the Lord smacked him on the side and said GET UP PETER! ( the peace of God)

What is the peace of Christ?

"Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid."

"I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world."

"Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus."

Definitions of His peace:

 "The peace of Christ is a feeling of peace that is given to us by Christ when we trust — not our circumstances — but all that God promises to be to us in Christ."

"Peace is a gift from Christ, you can’t earn it. Only He can grants such a gift because He is in control of all things. We must believe in the sovereignty of God, learn to let go and leave our burdens with Him, and take the gift of peace by faith."

 The world defines peace as surroundings or circumstances, such as the absence of conflict, or the absence of noise and chaos or troubles and worries.  Yet when we study the words of our Lord we can easily determine that this was not what He meant by peace.

A peaceful place ( How the world defines peace)

"In this world you WILL have trouble." But in the midst of that trouble, it is possible to be at peace, to be at rest, to trust and to have joy.

A peaceful person (How the world defines peace)

Lord, I give thanks today for Your peace, which does indeed transcend all understanding. May it guard the hearts and minds of all Your people today. In those moments where we lose sight of it, and begin to slip into fear, or worry, or anger.....remind us of Your promises, remind us of who You are and of who we are in relation to You, so that we can come quickly back to that place of perfect peace.



The Last Prayer depicts Christians praying as they meet their death in the arena. (the peace of God)

Have a blessed day everyone. May our God meet you today, right where you are, and may He provide for your needs, may He shoulder your burdens as you walk out your faith and if you know Him not, if this peace of which I speak is unknown to you, may He open your eyes, your ears and your heart that you might know Him, and the peace which He provides to those who do.

Nicholas Ridley and Hugh Latimer being prepared for burning at the stake. As he was tied to the stake to be burned, Latimer said these words "

“Oh, heavenly Father, I give unto thee most hearty thanks that thou hast called me to be a professor of thee, even unto death. I beseech thee, Lord God, have mercy on this realm of England, and deliver it from all her enemies.”

As the flames took them, Latimer said to Ridley these words "

Be of good comfort, Mr. Ridley, and play the man! We shall this day light such a candle by God’s grace, in England, as I trust never shall be put out.”  (the peace of God)



The Song, "It Is Well With My Soul" was written by Horatio Spafford in 1873 after the tragic loss of his four daughters at sea.He wrote it on the ocean while sailing near the spot where his daughters died.(the peace of God)


  1. When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
    When sorrows like sea billows roll;
    Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul.
    • Refrain:
      It is well, with my soul,
      It is well, it is well, with my soul.
  2. Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
    Let this blest assurance control,
    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.
  3. My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
    My sin, not in part but the whole,
    Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
    Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!
  4. For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
    If Jordan above me shall roll,
    No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
    Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.
  5. But, Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
    The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
    Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
    Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul!
  6. And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
    The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
    The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
    Even so, it is well with my soul.