Just a Dog, an Ode to Chief

 Today a friend drives to the vet, her dear friend Chief going for his final ride. He has been doing poorly, can hardly walk anymore and it is time to ease his suffering. My friend hurts. I know exactly how she feels. Chief is not "just a dog", he is a beloved family member, a friend and companion. 

 I have seen many photos of him, froliking in the snow with his buddy Sienna. He is such a beautiful boy.

 Go with God Chief, you were a good boy, you did what you were created to do, you loved your humans, loved your friends, loved the snow and the cold and a good frolic, you loved........and you did it well. Run now, with the Great Shepherd.

JUST A DOG

From time to time, people tell me, "lighten up, it's just a dog,"
or "that's a lot of money for just a dog."

They don't understand the distance travelled, the time spent,
or the costs involved for "just a dog."

Some of my proudest moments have come about with "just a dog."

Many hours have passed and my only company was "just a dog,"
but I did not once feel slighted.

Some of my saddest moments have been brought aobut by
"just a dog," and in those days of darkness, the gentle touch
of "just a dog" gave me comfort and reason to overcome the day.

If you, too, think it's "just a dog," then you probably understand
phrases like "just a friend," "just a sunrise," or "just a promise."

"Just a dog" brings into my life the very essence of friendship,
trust, and pure unbridled joy.
"Just a dog" brings out the compassion and patience
that make me a better person.
Because of "just a dog" I will rise early, take long walks and look
longingly to the future.

So for me and folks like me, it's not "just a dog"
but an embodiment of all the hopes and dreams of the future,
the fond memories of the past, and the pure joy of the moment.

"Just a dog" brings out what's good in me and diverts my thoughts
away from myself and the worries of the day.

I hope that someday they can understand that its' not "just a dog"
but the thing that gives me humanity and keeps me from being
"just a man" or "just a woman."

So the next time you hear the phrase "just a dog,"
just smile,
because they "just don't understand."

~Unknown Author~


Chief "Wenbrooke's Red Oktober" , you were many things, but never "just a dog".